Home About Us Ambur Muslim Educational Society (AMES)

Ambur Muslim Educational Society (AMES)

Janab Dr. Mecca Rafeeque Ahmed Sahib
President, AMES
Janab Dr. N. Mohammed Sayeed Sahib
Hon'y General Secretary, AMES

                          The Ambur Muslim Educational Society, founded in the year 1905, made a humble beginning by starting a small elementary school for boys. Like a snowball, it has now grown bigger over the years. It has seven educational institutions managed and maintained by it at present. They are:

  1.         Mazharul Uloom College (Shift I & Shift II)
  2.         Mazharul Uloom Higher Secondary School
  3.         Mazharul Uloom Primary School
  4.         Mazharul Uloom Coaching Centre for Women
  5.         Hasanath-e-Jaria Girls' Higher Secondary School
  6.         Hasanath-e-Jaria Girls' Primary School
  7.         AMES College of Education

Islam has given immense importance to education and spreading of knowledge. Prophet Muhammad (Pbuh) has categorically stated that every Muslim boy and girl must be given education. He even released prisoners of war for teaching the Muslims learn to read and write and treated that as a ransom, an event that has no parallel history. There are many of his Sayings relating to the importance of education, such as:

  • Seeking education is compulsory for both men and women.
  • The ink of the scholar is holier than the blood of the martyr.
  • Seek knowledge even if it be in China.

The educational backwardness of the Muslim community moved the altruistic heart of the tireless social activist, Janab T. Abdulah Sahib, who thought of doing something to improve the condition. With the support of some prominent Muslims, he started Madrase-e-Mazharul Uloom, a small school meant for students of all communities. However, his primary intent was to uplift the Muslim Community educationally, economically, and culturally. He was rightly honored with the appellation "Sir Syed of Ambur".

The caravan of the AMES with its dedicated team is on their march transforming the society to take up to modern education for their future betterment and make our country India stronger in all dimensions.

AMES celebrated its centenary in a grand manner on 04th, 05th and 06th September 2006 at the Mazarul Uloom Higher Secondary School premises, the then President of India, Dr. A.P.J Abdul Kalam, inaugurated the function and interacted with the students who had gathered there from different institutions and delivered his inspiring speech.

List of Presidents

S.No. Name From To

Janab Malagai Abdur Rahman Sahib

1917 1938

Janab Meddakar Moulve Hajee Mohamed Casim Sahib

1939 1963

Janab Anaikar Hajee Adbul Shukoor Sahib

30-09-1969 15-11-1976

Janab T. Hajee Abdul Wahid Sahib

15-11-1976 17-01-1982

Janab N.M. Zackria Sahib

17-01-1982 5-12-2021

Janab Dr. Mecca Rafeeque Ahmed Sahib

21-02-2022 Till date

    List of Hon’y General Secretary 

    S.No. Name From To

    Janab Meddakar Moulve Hajee Mohamed Casim Sahib

    1914 1916

    Janab V.L. Moahmed Usman Sahib

    1917 1920

    Janab Kandrikar Hajee Abdus Salam Sahib

    1921 1947

    Janab Kandrikar Abdu Latheef Sahib

    1947 1952

    Janab Ayyapillai Abdur Rawoof Sahib

    1952 1954

    Janab Peshimam Abdul Khyoom Sahib

    1955 1958

    Janab Kandrikar Khaleelur Rahman Sahib

    30-09-1968 24-09-1972

    Janab Jalal Abdullah Basha Sahib

    24-09-1972 15-11-1976

    Janab Nathersa Mohammed Sayeed Sahib

    15-11-1976 24-12-1978

    Janab Kurvikar Sanaullah Sahib

    24-12-1978 17-01-1982

    Janab Dr. N. Mohammed Sayeed Sahib


    Janab Alhaj N. Shafeeq Ahmed Sahib  

      Till date

                                              AMES Rules for the Management of MUC

                                                      AMES Rule